Founded in 1880 by William Ebsworth Hill (1817–1895), the London-based company of W. E. Hill & Sons grew to become one of the most important violin firms in violin making history, thriving for over 100 years. As leading experts on historic Cremonese instruments, William Ebsworth and his four sons, William Henry Hill (1857–1927), Arthur Frederick Hill (1860–1939), Albert Ebsworth Hill (1865–1940), and Walter Edgar Hill (1871–1905), handled the restoration and sales of the world's finest instruments, including those of Stradivari and Guarneri.
Particularly known for their bows, Hill & Sons employed numerous top bow makers, including James Tubbs (1835–1921), Samuel Allen (1838–1914), Frank Napier (1885–1969), Albert Leeson (1903–1946), Edgar Bishop (1904–1943), William Charles Retford (1875–1970), and Malcolm Taylor (1934–2012).
In 2018, W. E. Hill & Sons was acquired by violin makers Robert Brewer Young and Stefan-Peter Greiner, bow maker Derek Wilson, and the managing directors of J&A Beare Company, Simon Morris and Steven Smith. Now located in the historic Burgh House in Hampstead, London, the venerable W. E. Hill & Sons workshop has resumed crafting new instruments and bows, offering the excellence of an enduring English tradition. Carriage House Violins is pleased to be your trusted source for these fine bows in North America.