Malcolm Taylor violin bow for W. E. Hill and Sons
Founded in 1880 by William Ebsworth Hill (1817–1895), the London-based company of W. E. Hill & Sons grew to become one of the most important in violin making history for over 100 years. As leading experts on historic Cremonese instruments, W. E. and his four sons handled the restoration and sales of the world's finest instruments, including those of Stradivari and Guarneri. Particularly known for their bows, Hill & Sons employed numerous top bow makers, including Malcolm Taylor (1934–2012), one of the last members of the dynasty of English bow makers of the 20th century. Taylor began working for W. E. Hill & Sons in 1949, before establishing his own shop in Devon in 1973. In 1981, Taylor made a set of bows to celebrate the wedding of Prince Charles and Princess Diana.
In 2018, W. E. Hill & Sons was acquired by violin makers Robert Brewer Young and Stefan-Peter Greiner, bow maker Derek Wilson, and the managing directors of J&A Beare Company, Simon Morris and Steven Smith. Now located in the historic Burgh House in Hampstead, London, the venerable W. E. Hill & Sons workshop has resumed crafting new instruments and bows, offering the excellence of an enduring English tradition. Carriage House Violins is pleased to be your trusted source for these fine bows in North America.